the pressure is off

I get caught up in the web of life all too easy. The pressing question that I’m always trying to answer is: what are you doing with that? It might seem like a small question but it’s where that question leads me. Thats the problem.

We live in a place & time that values perfection & the system that can get you there. So when you make up with a small business to create (& hopefully make a living off of) or serve tables every night or open a new coffee shoppe as a barista or try to stay afloat with video filming & editing. Or just perhaps, you are doing all of those at once! The question: What are you doing with that? gets annoying quick. In between all of these jobs, hobbies, passions, I strain the brain with churning out a plan for life. I can do it, I tell myself. Just think harder, pray harder, work harder.

But then there are days like today, when I realize though a culmination of physical activity, a good shift at work, some refreshing music, & just some good plain sense being dropped in my lap.

I don’t have to have a plan for everything I do.

And that is great news. The pressure is off. Just live the day. Sure there are questions of the future: companionship, career, hobbies, wealth, love, legacy, purpose. But I don’t have to have it all figured out.

Thank goodness.

Now, my writing training urges me to give an encouraging how-to, on finding the “pressure is off” zone. But for some reason that feels cheap to do.

So, simply. Thanks for reading.

One thought on “the pressure is off

  1. I can relate to this post and it also reminds me of Mat 6:25. Though its super hard to just take it a day at a time and not worry about the future I guess we just have to constantly remind ourselves to take it easy.

Leave a Reply

