Doctor Who Explained

Doctor Who LogoI am finding that I stand in the rift between several fandoms and the everyday world. Speciality Coffee, VGHS, and Fixies just to name a few. But one fandom baffles (or excites) the most. Doctor Who.

I am a Doctor Who fan, or as some would say “Whovian.” A friend of mine helped me make the leap and I’ve never looked back. I’m hooked. I now have seen all of the Doctor Who reboot seasons, I own several pieces of Doctor Who apparel and I incorporate the Doctor’s witty dialogue into everyday speech. And as you read this you are either becoming excited or you are becoming disgusted. BOTH OF THESE REACTIONS ARE FASCINATING. Which brings us back to the reason I am writing.

People that have watched Doctor Who (for the most part) enjoy to follow the Doctor around in his adventures and then condemn anyone that doesn’t view the the Doctor in the same regard to Sci-Fi purgatory. On the other hand, people that have not watched Doctor Who (for the most part) don’t get it. And since they don’t get it, they forget about Doctor Who and outcast the “Whovians” never allowing them to partake in everyday amenities like running water & electricity. Okay, that might be too strong but to a degree they both happen. Doctor Who fans have literally (and figuratively) left the Earth behind in their love for the show all the while non-fans roll their eyes in annoyance towards just another serial TV show.

I would like for that to stop. I agree that both sides do have thier faults. But a healthy dosage of Doctor Who and reality would make this planet a better place.

So for next several weeks we will travel between the space-time continuum of fandom and reality. I’ll explain Doctor Who to any curious companion as well as expand upon what I geek out over while watching it. (It’s different then what you think.)

The new season of Doctor Who has just started so I’ll write a post about each episode after it airs. The show airs on BBC America on Saturday Nights at 7:30pm. (DVR it or watch it via AmazonPrime if you can’t find it on cable.) If you’ve never watched Doctor Who, now worries. This IS a perfect time to start. There’s a new Doctor (I’ll explain that later) and everything about him will be explained through-out the season.

Please join me in this journey through time and space. It’s gunna be FANTASTIC!

Here is the master list of all the episodes & their review/explanations:

  1. Deep Breath
  2. Into the Dalek
  3. Robot of Sherwood
  4. Listen
  5. Time Heist
  6. The Caretaker
  7. Kill the Moon
  8. Mummy on the Orient Express
  9. Flatline
  10. In the Forrest of the Night
  11. Dark Water
  12. Death in Heaven
4 thoughts on “Doctor Who Explained

Leave a Reply

