Dear Stroymen Extra: Gravity

This is my response to The Storymen Extra podcast episode discussing the movie Gravity, featuring Aaron Krutzmann. Please listen to the episode for context as well as enjoyment.

THE PODCAST DOES CONTAIN SPOILERS BUT MY RESPONSE DOES NOT. SO GO SEE GRAVITY FIRST, (IN IMAX) THEN LISTEN TO THE PODCAST, READ MY RESPONSE & THEN COMMENT ALONG!

First & foremost, congrats to my friend Aaron for being on the Extra. Also thanks for doing your audio magic for the Storymen.

Initially, I was not drawn to seeing Gravity because of the cast. Sandra is Miss Congeniality to me & George lives in Las Vegas. But what did draw me was the director Alfonso Cuarón.

After his epic, Children of Men, I will see every film that he makes.

Aaron & JR argue the poor story & plot point well so I will move onto the best thing about Gravity.

The Sound Editing.

The whole picture revolved around it. From the beginning you are sucked in, your ears strain to catch every burst of communication. Yours ears & eyes have never experienced such a magnitude of simultaneous perspective ever before (& possibly ever again.) My heartbeat rose & fell with each sound effect movement. Incredible.

To me, Gravity is the movie that every studio wants & every person should see at the movie theater. As much as we are overloaded with media & saturated with images, Gravity deserves to be set apart. It is not a movie but a picture of awe. It stands outside image consumption & expectation. So when Gravity is brought home it will fall short. (I will chuckle when I see it my local Redbox.)

To conclude, I will confess. I did not go into it searching for the symbolism. I was taken a back of how much there actually was, after hearing from JR & Clay. For me I will make more of an effort to expect to see them instead of just looking for the visual & audio wow factor.

How about yourself? What did you enjoy about it? What about the visual & audio enthralled you? What symbols did you enjoy? And is Aaron really a pretzel disguised as a human being?

simultaneous

Leave a Reply

