Hunger

I remember the first time I had Shrimp N’ Grits like it was yesterday. I was hired as a server at a restaurant that would have its grand opening in a week’s time. The owners wanted all the staff to experience each dish. They took the time to explain how the grits were made, where the shrimp came from & how they were prepared, even the gravy had its own story. Tasso Ham was the secret, creating the perfect gravy. Not too heavy, not too light. When all those ingredients met my taste buds. They fell in love. I’ll never forget it.

I cannot remember the first time I had a deli sandwich. It was probably some afternoon when there was no peanut butter & jelly left. It probably had ham, lettuce, tomato, mayo & mustard. When those ingredients met my taste buds it probably wasn’t love at first bite. I forgot about it.

And after fasting forty days & forty nights, [Jesus] was hungry. And the tempter came & said to him, “If you are the Son of God, command these stones to become loaves of bread.” But he answered, “It is written, ‘Man shall not live on bread alone, but by every word that comes from the mouth of God.'” Matthew 4:2-4

I read this scripture today having felt distant from God, lacking care & drive to pursue Him. My thoughts have been something of the sort, “I don’t want to spend time to truly discover God in His word & since I don’t want that, then a meager 5 minutes won’t get me anywhere as well.”

Now, a lot can be said about this passage but today I read that my physical hunger mirrors my spiritual hunger. To naturally satisfy my physical hunger I eat. Sometimes deli sandwiches, sometimes Shrimp N’ Grits. Do I enjoy one more than the other? Yes, immensely. But both satisfy my physical hunger. So to naturally satisfy my spiritual hunger I must read. Sometimes the 5 minute bits, sometimes the inductive digging. Do I enjoy one more than the other? Yes, immensely. But both satisfy my spiritual hunger.

I remember the first time that Ephesians 2:8,9 came alive to me. I cannot remember the first time that Proverbs 6:6 came alive to me. But both satisfy my hunger for more.

Man shall not live on bread alone, but by every word that comes from the mouth of God. Matthew 4:4

Leave a Reply

