Boy, does that hit the spot!

This summer I am a server at a Steakhouse in Knoxville, Tennessee. It opened up earlier this month and is called The Grill at Highlands Row. It is my first time-serving and I am enjoying every minute of it.

As you read from my earlier post I am serving (and interested) in wine as well as grass-fed steaks, shrimp & grits and okra fries. I have discovered several new things as I have began to serve tables. 1) You always leave the restaurant with cash. That is extremely scary yet exciting at the same time. One evening I was walked out with over one hundred dollars in my pocket thinking, “This could get me a lot of Starbursts.” 2) You are ALWAYS hungry when you work at a restaurant. As a poor college student that religiously has pasta for dinner 5 nights out of 7, walking into the kitchen is torture. Some nights it is heaven when I order that plate of shrimp and grits or a pork chop with poached pear. But all the other nights I have discovered the perfect remedy. CEREAL!

I walk through the door at 11 o’clock at night and head straight for the lazy susan. With a quick spin and a quicker hand I grab my beloved Cinnamon Toast Crunch and pour a heaping bowl. Splashing on the milk and diving a spoon into it I devour the bowl. Then another. Boy, does that hit the spot! Soon after my second bowl I find myself retreating upstairs to my bed, all to wake up and repeat the process.

Cereal is by far the best hunger quenched. I am not sure how many bowls I will consume this summer but boy am I excited about my next bowl tonight!

One thought on “Boy, does that hit the spot!

  1. I always find that I’m starving when I get home from work! I’ll have to get some cinnamon toast crunch and try it out ๐Ÿ™‚ you make it sound delicious!! I usually have Beefaroni for dinner ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

